My Toastmaster Bread Box Model 1155

It must have been about 14 or 15 years ago that my husband, Mike, bought me a bread maker for Christmas.  I was thrilled!  I had wanted one since my friend showed me hers.  And since I HATE to knead bread dough, but love to bake my own bread, this was just the ticket!

Toastmaster Bread Box Model 1155 is what I got.  Best thing in the world to buy me! (at that time anyway!)  It makes a 1 pound or a 1.5 pound loaf.  I always used it for the 1.5 loaf.  At first, until I got the recipe the way I like it, the loaves were often quite odd shaped, or heavy, or crumbly, or very dense, or something that was just not quite right. Sometimes they didn’t rise beyond the middle of the pan, and sometimes they rose way up and were like a big mushroom top.  As I learned how to make a good loaf, and experimented more and more, I began getting excellent results.  Now I have a whole wheat bread recipe that I have developed over the years that is fail-proof, and everyone loves it.

However, when my old, beloved bread machine needed to be replaced, I did a lot of research to find just the right one.

One thing I should mention is that it wasn’t actually the bread machine that needed to be replaced. . .it was only the pan that was no longer usable.  My machine is still in good operating condition.  So I didn’ t really need a whole new machine, but I couldn’t seem to track down the right pan.  And I thought: (do you ever do this?) “Okay, I’ll finally get a new pan, and then in a week or a month  something will go wrong with the machine, then I’ll have a pan with no machine to put it in.”

Now that I had owned and used a bread maker for several years, I kind of knew what to expect and what I would like in a new one.  So with that in mind, I began my search.

Leave a Reply

